The First Lincoln Cents

Discussion in 'Trivia' started by pegmih, Aug 2, 2013.

  1. pegmih

    pegmih Well-Known Member

    On August 2, 1909, the first Lincoln cents were issued.

    There are six 1909 Lincoln cents :
    Four Lincoln – the 1909 VDB penny (no mintmark, struck at the Philadelphia mint),
    the 1909 S VSB (San Francisco),
    plus coins without the designer initials from each mint.

    There are also two Indian Head cents of 1909,
    one each from Philadelphia and San Francisco.

    2 penny indian.jpg ------- 2 penny lincoln2.jpg

Share This Page